Charlotte Sign.JPGI have recently moved from Connecticut to North Carolina. Why North Carolina? Well, first because of my hubby’s job and maybe for retirement but we also wanted to live in a place where we will still have the city life and longer months of warm weather.  We also chose NC because it was closer to the northeast in which my family still resides. We don’t have family here which makes it a bit harder to adjust. Although I did meet up with one of my relative residing here. Nice to know that there is some sort of family here.  I do miss my family and friends though.

It has been 4 months now and I can tell you that I really like it here.  Before moving here, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about the move so I kept telling myself that if I don’t like it, I can still go back.  I think I am here to stay ….

Here’s a synopsis of what has been going on in my life so far –

My Neighbors: I have already met many of my neighbors in the first month of moving here.  They are all very nice.  I’ve already attended 2 parties and met many more people from adjoining neighborhoods.  The homes here are divided by sub divisions and is different from where I came from.  Finding a home is very stressful especially when you don’t know the areas and the only source was from blogs and city-data.  We were very lucky to find the house that we are in today.

Shopping:  OMG!!!  We are so close to all the shopping areas here.  The Premium outlet is only 20 minutes away and the other shops like Trader Joes, Whole Foods, Target, Michaels, Walmart, Restoration Hardware, Nordstrom, and many more are only 15 minutes.  Too many to list.

Furniture shopping – We drove up to Hickory, NC which is the furniture outlet and we bought several pieces of furniture there.  The prices are half compared to Connecticut.  We didn’t get a chance to drive up to High Point, NC yet which is another high end furniture outlet but will probably do that next year.

Tourists Attractions:  Sport – The NFL Carolina Panthers and the Charlotte Knights which is located in the city area call “UPTOWN” here.  And is also home of the Charlotte Hornets (basketball – Jeremy Lin).  Nascar is also big here in Charlotte.

Etsy – I am still sewing but not listing as much because of the move. Fall is approaching and the holidays is just around the corner.  I will need to get busy again.

I can go on and on but I will try to update as much as I can.

 

